Keeping Up With The Masses; An Artists Struggle With Social Media and The Art Of Engaging


I’ve spent my morning trying to get organized, listing art on new sites, keeping up with the social media sites, tweaking my twitter, stumbling my pictures and finally updating my blog. There is so much to keep up with……aggghhhh. I want to simplify, downsize, reign things in a little but I find myself afraid to miss an opportunity. How many of you feel lost on twitter? Do you feel like your tweets are just going out into the unknown, never to be noticed? Engage we are told; show you are a real person. Does anyone REALLY want to hear about my kids first day of school, how I burned the oatmeal this morning or how fat my kitten is getting? I just don’t see it but I’ll keep tweeting just in case there is someone likeminded out there actually listening. I just want to paint, lock myself away and paint until I run out of supplies. But what’s the use of painting for a living if I don’t find a way to share it with the masses. I’ll cross my fingers and send new artwork out to cyber space in the hopes someone out there will connect with it enough to press that buy button. I’m just trying to make a living, pay some bills, buy the kids some cloths for school, afford a piece of salmon once in awhile. And maybe, once in blue moon I will find myself engaging with someone else floating around in this vast cyber space who’s also trying to connect and make a living off their handmade goods. Now I’m off to tweet!

2 thoughts on “Keeping Up With The Masses; An Artists Struggle With Social Media and The Art Of Engaging

  1. This is it. Blogging was about simple things you write in your spare time. Things you want to share, like “your kids first day at school” and the “burned oatmeal”, not a breaking news. I guess you are right, not anymore. Blogging, tweaking twitter and the rest of the social sites becomes full time job where there is more and more less space for every day stuff. I feel lost on twitter too. As you said now days we got too engaged….opportunity here…..opportunity there……kids….shopping….and there you go…..you get swamp! when you get time to paint then. What I do ? I choose my battles. I delegate. So I can dedicate more time for what I am really good at and where I find a joy. Thanks god for my husband to whom I can pass some of my load!

  2. I should choose my battles too and downsize a little, not have so much on my plate. It’s easy to say but so hard to do, isn’t it??!!

Leave a Reply

