Crazy Dog Takes Lessons From An Even Crazier Family – An Artists Life With Six Kids


One day my husband brought home a big dog, without my permission. I saw him driving up the road towards our house, arm hanging out the window, cigar in his mouth and a big black dog in the passenger seat. Secretly I sometimes think he looks more like a redneck but that’s beside the point (and please don’t tell him I said that). I watch him pull into the driveway, with this dog and his cigar and felt one of those rare moments of hate that are inevitable in any relationship. There he was, completely white dust covered from one of his renovating jobs, cigar ashes flying as he strained to cart this dog out of the van. He looked at me; big smile covering his face then shrugged his shoulders and brought the dog in the house. I took a moment, a moment to unclench my fists and breath, just breath. Now don’t get me wrong, I love dogs, although I do admit to a slight fear of the larger ones. Again, I repeat, I do love dogs, however, we have six kids between us, two at that time that were little enough to be home during the day, with me and now, this big dog.

Image

The dog was a female black lab mix with a little crazy stirred in. First thing the dog did to initiate herself into our family was to chew on the legs of my antique dining set. A dining set that has been around for approximately 130 years but is falling apart under the “care” of my rough family. It managed a 130-year life until it fatefully became part of our furniture collection. So the dog, whom we named Dolly, chewed my chairs and one leg of the table; happily I might add, like they were dipped in bacon grease. This all happened fast, she dove straight for the table and started chewing before anyone could stop her. Could have been comical if not for my total distress at watching my table getting ruined. As the kids and my husband chased her around trying to stop the destruction she would move to another chair, go in for a quick bite and slip away before any hands could reach her.

She was a friendly dog, very hyperactive though which did amount to a lot of interesting scenarios. Luckily a few of our kids were old enough to take her on lots of walks. For the older girls it was more of a tug of war then a walk but still, they got the job done.

For our youngest son though, who was only three at the time, this dog, Dolly, was both a friend and an enemy. They quickly developed a very complicated love, hate relationship; you see we were not used to a big dog in the house. So when we laid out lunch for our little guy, on the coffee table with his little plastic chair pulled up, well little did we know this was the perfect height for a dog thief. Every time our son looked away, Dolly, who would act seemingly uninterested while the food was being served, would then scoot over and devour the meal in mere seconds. Around the third time this happened, our son got up, walked over to the dog that was lying on the floor pretending not to notice him and then leaned forward to lift up her ear and whisper, “Dolly, I hate you”.

Image

He had seemed to forgive her though, when later he brought the dog over to show us his art experiment. He had gotten into my art paints and brushes and had decorated the dog in multiple colors. What I found most amusing was the patience of this dog, our Dolly, to have sat through a painting session that was long enough for our son to change colors and cover multiple areas of her body. But he sure was proud and Dolly seemed happy enough, probably hoping in return he would just share his lunch with her.

 

I long ago decided my only defence in this family is to just paint!

Image

4 thoughts on “Crazy Dog Takes Lessons From An Even Crazier Family – An Artists Life With Six Kids

  1. Fabulous post Laura! I have a special affinity for BIG BLACK dogs myself….as when I was young and stressed in my life a large black dog would always appear in my dreams and comfort me….as an adult I met the love of my life…and two weeks later found out he had a big black dog. His dog Sophie and I formed a very special bond and he helped me recover from childhood abuse. Sophie was a great dane…danes usually live no more than 10 years…she made it to 13….I needed her. I love big black dogs and I’ve had two so far….ready for my next!

  2. Sharon, it’s great to hear a dog helped you through a rough time! I think great danes are awesome! There was one that used to live up the road from us and would come and ‘visit’, she would stand on our front porch and bark at the door which is all glass so we could see her and she could see us. The first time I saw her I was afraid, then I realized what a big baby she was. As soon as our little Chihuahua would bark back she would take off running like she had been shot at. haha It was pretty amusing. She was more afraid of us yet she would keep stopping by. Beautiful dog though!!

  3. This is a great story! I can just imagine the chaos and comfort Dolly brought. Poor dining set. I was a perfectly happy cat lover myself when I married a man with a Queensland Heeler… I have now become (much to my surprise) a dog lover. 😉

Leave a Reply

