Featured Artist – Sharon Cummings – An Artists Interview


Today’s featured artist, Sharon Cummings is an artist I have known through social media and some selling sites for quite a few years now. I’ve always admired her amazing work and her ability to market herself. It’s inspiring to see an artist do so well and still make the time to help others. I hope you enjoy her work as much as I do.

Image

 

Here is an interview with Sharon about her and her art.

 

Have you always been an artist?

 

I have always been an artist. But I have only been creating professionally for a little over 10 years.

Image Image  Image 

 

Who or what inspires your art the most?

 

I am not the type of artist that looks at other art to get inspired typically. I seem to just have a zillion ideas going on in my head all of the time. My paintings must be inspired by an accumulation of life scenery. My photography and photo painting is inspired by what I see.

 

Image  Image  Image 

Do you have a studio space in your home, outside of your home or maybe a shared space with other artists? Tell us a little about your workspace.

 

I have a dedicated room in my home that acts as my studio. It isn’t very large, so when I paint the huge pieces over 6 feet long, I use my garage which is outfitted with a large table, lights and air conditioning.

 

 Image    Image     Image

Is your family supportive or your art and your career choice as an artist?

 

I have had a lot of support from my family and friends with my art. Of course it doesn’t hurt that I am successful and not the “starving artist” type mooching money and food off of them all of the time.

 

 Image  Image  Image

What obstacles have you faced in your career and how did you overcome them?

 

There are many obstacles to my career choice. But one of the hardest for me is the “isolation”. I work from home and am alone most of the time. I do not have coworkers to cut up with or go out to lunch with. It can get very lonely. I still struggle with this. But try to get out with friends as much as I can.

 

Image  Image  Image 

How do you find balance between your work and your family?

 

In order to achieve a balance with my work and family life I have to mark off of time for both and stick to those fiercely!

 

 Image  Image  Image

Do you have a favorite artist and if so who?

 

Everyone always asks me if I have a favorite artist….I am not good with favorites…I like so many, so I will choose my daughter. I believe her to have far more talent than I do!

 

Image  Image  Image

 

 

If you were to give an aspiring artist three pieces of advice what would they be?

 

My advice to artists who wish to succeed with their work is to expect to invest a lot of time creating (make something every day!) and also to expect to spend some money…invest in yourself by getting on pay sites, buying the right camera, etc. Dont skimp! And lastly it is to believe in yourself no matter how grim it looks…sales wax and wane…just keep on believing…

 

Image  Image  Image

You can find Sharon on Fine Art America, Etsy, her blog and her facebook page as well as many other places on the internet.

 

2 thoughts on “Featured Artist – Sharon Cummings – An Artists Interview

  1. Thank you so much for the feature Laura!! I am delighted to know you and to have worked with you many times. 🙂

Leave a comment