Birthday Wishes From A Nine Year Old


Today is my birthday. Today I turned 42. In the past few years, the days leading up to my birthday bring a tiny bit of sadness. I don’t like that I am getting older, especially when I still feel so young. I see a few wrinkles now and dread someday not recognizing myself in the mirror.

This morning my nine year old son woke me up with hugs and birthday wishes. I left the bed he was snuggled into to use the bathroom. When I came back he said to me “you’re beautiful”. It made me laugh. So he says, “you are, you still have that makeup on from last night, your hair is all over the place and big and there’s that little curl hanging down, you look beautiful”. Right there, the best birthday present EVER. Little did he know how much his words meant, today of all days.

cropped-blogheader.jpg

6 thoughts on “Birthday Wishes From A Nine Year Old

  1. I love this post. Happy birthday to another July baby. I really enjoy your writing and look forward to your posts. Thank you for Sharing. My 9 year old son is dear to me as well. 🙂

    • Thank you Omaste! That’s nice to hear! 🙂 There is something about young sons, they really can make you feel special! I remember my oldest son telling me when he was 14 that he couldn’t go to sleep unless he said good night to me. haha Little boys love their mommies!

Leave a Reply

