New Landscape Painting In Red and Green


I just finished a new painting, the shape is kind of cool because it’s long and thin, measuring 10×30 inches. The red and green in this painting are really vibrant and there is a subtle texture that picked up some of the running colours adding more texture and interest.

I really love this colour combination and lately have wanted to repaint my living room. I’m not sure yet but this red is really calling to me. We have black/brown pine floors and the current colour is butter yellow. But this red, on at least one or two walls would be incredibly rich and vibrant.

Before we had yellow walls and the black/brown floors I had two of the walls painted black against a caramel coloured floor. Black seems extreme but it actually worked really well. I have so much art on my walls that ends up covering a lot of any colour, which helps tone it down considerably. The funny thing about the black walls was that I had meant to paint them a dark olive green. I had almost finished when my oldest son came home and asked why I was painting the living room black. I argued with him for about five minutes that it was a dark olive green and only looked black in the lighting. Turns out I had grabbed the wrong paint can and ended up painting the room with exterior black paint. But it really did look unique and all the art looked amazing against the black so I lived with it for a few years.

DSCN0010landscaperedrooftopcypresstreespainting

House On The Ridge 10×30 inches available for sale on Ugallery

 

2 thoughts on “New Landscape Painting In Red and Green

Leave a comment